In Our VOICES (Voices Of Integrating Culture in the Earth Sciences): JGE Publications

May 21, 2024

11 AM -12 PM Pacific | 12-1 PM Mountain | 1-2 PM Central | 2-3 PM Eastern

Will this webinar be recorded?

Yes. The captioned recording will be posted to this webinar page and sent to the NAGT Webinar Series Interest listserv.

Presenters

NAGT DEI Committee
Julia Cisneros, Assistant Professor, Department of Geosciences, Virginia Tech
Matt Downen, Assistant Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning, Centre College
Candice M. Duncan, Assistant Professor, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, University of Maryland
Claire McKinley, Assistant Professor, Bellevue College
Annareli Morales, Air Quality Policy Analyst, Weld County Public Health and Environment
Darryl Reano, Assistant Professor, School Of Earth and Space Exploration, Arizona State University
Sriparna Saha, PhD student, School of Earth and Environment, University of Canterbury

Description

Please join this NAGT DEI Committee-hosted webinar to hear from participants of the NSF-funded project In Our VOICES: Voices Of Integrating Culture in the Earth Sciences (VOICES). These scientists and educators will share an overview of the work published in the Journal of Geoscience Education issue highlighting the project (Volume 71, Issue 3 (2023)). This webinar is for anyone interested in how personal identity shapes one's Earth and environmental science education experience, and particularly the VOICES elements of Identity, Belonging, Place and Security. Presenters will offer comments on lessons learned for implementation in teaching and research environments.

Resources

Journal of Geoscience Education, Volume 71, Issue 3 (2023)

DEI at NAGT

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Ashley Carlson at acarlson2@carleton.edu if you have any questions about this event.