NAGT > Professional Development > Workshops > Supporting Broader Educational Impacts Webinar

Supporting Broader Educational Impacts Webinar

Wednesday, April 8, 2015: 2 p.m. (PT) // 3 p.m. (MT) // 4 p.m. (CT) // 5 p.m. (ET)

Leader: Cathy Manduca, Carleton College
Speaker and Scribe: Dave Mogk, Montana State University
Speaker: Michael Wysession, Washington University, St. Louis

Beginning from recent national education reports and planning documents from IRIS, UNAVCO and Earthscope, this webinar will focus on key facility capabilities that will strengthen educational impact.

Participants in this webinar will synthesize the guidance from recent education reports that bears on the ability of the SAGE/GAGE facilities to strengthen broader educational impacts. We will discuss key ideas from reports such as Engage to Excel (PCAST report), the Next Generation Science Standards, STEM Learning is Everywhere, and Expanding Underrepresented Minority Participation as well as reports and guiding documents from Earthscope, IRIS and UNAVCO relating to their education and outreach activities. What do we learn from recent education reports that should shape our thinking about the facilities? Are there other emerging ideas that should be guiding our thinking about the ability of the facilities to support broader impacts? Michael Wysession and Dave Mogk will provide opening overviews and perspectives followed by group discussion and synthesis.

Agenda and Reporting

In preparation for the webinar, please review

Other publications and resources of interest:

  • NSF GEO Advisory Committee Reports–Includes links to download PDFs for: Dynamic Earth: GEO Imperatives & Frontiers 2015-2020 (2014), Strategic Framework for Education and Diversity, Facilities, International Activities, and Data and Informatics in the Geosciences (2012),
    GEO Vision (2009)

Facilities E&O Activities

Higher Education

K-12 Education



      Next Page »