Mentoring Undergraduates: Techniques And Best Practices For Guiding The Next Generation Of Scientists

Wednesday, January 26, 2022

11:00 am PT | 12:00 pm MT | 1:00 pm CT | 2:00 pm ET

Registration Deadline is Monday, January 24, 2022

Register now »

Presenters

Anika Knight, UNAVCO Educational Specialist

Webinar Description

Establishing a mentoring relationship typically falls upon the mentee, which can leave individuals who could benefit the most (non-traditional & first generation students or individuals from marginalized groups) out in the cold. As educators and potential mentors what can we do to bridge the gap, and ease the burden? Graduate programs require students to have advisors and committees, which can provide multilayered mentoring. How can we establish a similar relationship with undergraduate students? During this webinar we will cover techniques and best practices for establishing, maintaining, or improving mentoring relationships with undergraduate students. While the topics covered will directly target undergraduate mentors they may also be useful for those working with high school or graduate students.

Webinar goals

During the webinar you will:

  • Methods of identifying potential mentees
  • Learn how to establish a mentoring relationship with guidelines and goals
  • Gain insights into mentoring in a hybrid/online environment

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Bradlee Cotton (bcotton@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.


      Next Page »

Advertisement