NAGT awards provide our community with the opportunity to recognize colleagues and students in a tangible way that communicates respect for their outstanding efforts and lets them know that their work contributes to our mission. The awards also create an opportunity for networking and building stronger relationships within the geoscience community. Information on the awards and instructions for nominations are below.

Webinar: Learn more about NAGT's awards and nomination process »

For Educators

Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award (OEST)

This award is given to precollege teachers who have made exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the earth sciences and who are outstanding teachers. Each NAGT section selects a section winner. Sections may also have state winners. Nomination deadline: March 31.

Distinguished Service: Robert Christman Award

The Robert Christman Distinguished Service Award was established by the Executive Committee in April, 2008 to recognize individuals who have provided long, distinguished service to the Association at the national and/or section level. Rolling nominations.

Stimulation of Interest in the Earth Sciences: Neil Miner Award

This award is given every year to an individual for exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth sciences. Nomination deadline: April 15.

Excellence in Earth Science Writing and Editing: James H. Shea Award

Each year the National Association of Geoscience Teachers presents the James Shea Award to an individual for exceptional contributions in the form of writing or editing of Earth science materials (broadly construed) that are of interest to the general public and/or teachers of Earth Science. Nomination deadline: April 15.

Excellence in JEDI Award

The Excellence in Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (JEDI) Award is presented annually to an individual or group who has made significant contributions to JEDI in geoscience. Nomination deadline: April 15.

JGE Outstanding Paper and Outstanding Reviewer Awards

The Journal of Geoscience Education (JGE) is the publication of record for NAGT. Each year an award is given for Outstanding Paper and Outstanding Reviewer. Nomination deadline: August 1.

For Students

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Up to 30 awards are given to outstanding teaching assistants, half to undergraduate TAs and half to graduate TAs. Nomination deadlines: December 15 and June 15.

Division Awards

Geo2YC Division Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award

The Geo2YC: The Two-Year College Division recognizes adjunct faculty who work to support student learning at two-year colleges.

GER Division Awards

The Geoscience Education Research Division (GER) offers three division awards, the Transformation Award, the Collaboration Award, and the GER Early Career Award.

TED Division Earth Science Teacher Leader Award

The Teacher Education Division (TED) Earth Science Teacher Leader Award recognizes K-12 geoscience teachers who distinguish themselves through service to their professional community, distinction in their classroom, and dedication to informal geoscience opportunities or field work for their students.

      Next Page »