JGE Outstanding Paper and Outstanding Reviewer Awards

The Journal of Geoscience Education (JGE)

The Journal of Geoscience Education (JGE) is the premier peer-reviewed publication for geoscience education research and curriculum and instruction at the undergraduate and pre-college levels. JGE is the publication of record for NAGT, and serves as the only international forum dedicated solely to the publication of research concerning the pedagogy, assessment, and philosophy of teaching and learning about the geosciences.

Award Recipients

JGE Outstanding Paper Award 2022 Recipients:

The Outstanding Paper Award goes to Karen Viskupic, Anne E. Egger, Rory R. McFadden & Mark D. Schmitz(2021) Comparing desired workforce skills and reported teaching practices to model students' experiences in undergraduate geoscience programs, Journal of Geoscience Education, 69:1, 27-42, DOI: 10.1080/10899995.2020.1779568

JGE Outstanding Reviewer Award 2022 Recipient:

Samuel Cornelius Nyarko, Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis

The Awards

The JGE Outstanding Paper Award

Because of the broad range of Research, Curriculum and Instruction, and Commentary manuscripts published by the Journal of Geoscience Education, it is impossible to define a set of criteria that must be applied to all papers considered for this award. Rather, it is expected that in order to be nominated, a paper must exhibit, as relevant, at least some of the following characteristics: (1) innovative enhancement of student learning, which is documented and assessed, (2) advancement of the discipline of geoscience education, and (3) broad societal impact of vital and significant high quality geoscience education. The award will be given for papers published during the preceding year (e.g. Fall 2018 award presentation for papers published in 2017).

The JGE Outstanding Reviewer Award

The quality of the Journal of Geoscience Education is dependent on dedicated reviewers and editors. JGE Editorial Board would like to recognize those reviewers who: (1) provided reviews of exceptional quality, (2) completed reviews more quickly than average, and/or (3) completed more reviews than average. The award will be based on the quality and quantity of reviews completed in the past year.

« Previous Page