Lead: Get Involved in NAGT Leadership

There are several ways for members to become more involved with NAGT:

National Elected Officers (Executive Committee)

NAGT strives for an inclusive and diverse leadership team. Our open nomination process is designed to foster broad participation in our leadership and programming.

Each year, the Nomination Committee solicits nominations from the membership for open positions in the Executive Committee, which is the governing body of the organization. Self-nominations and nominations by any active NAGT member are accepted, and nominations are considered active for three years. The nomination committee develops a slate of candidates to present to the Executive Committee for approval and the membership that will create a governing body that represents the diversity of the membership in terms of employment, geography, experience in NAGT, and identity.

If you have been involved in NAGT through your section or division, serving on a committee, or leading professional development, and you want to do more to help NAGT (or if you know someone else who does), a leadership role at the national level is a great next step.

Positions open every year:

  • 2nd Vice-President
  • Councilors-at-Large (2)

Position open every three years:

  • Secretary-treasurer

The Secretary-Treasurer and Councilors-at-Large three-year terms. The 2nd Vice-President transitions to 1st Vice-President, President, and Past President over four years.

To learn more about these roles and find out if it's a good fit for you, read the NAGT Officer Guidelines (Acrobat (PDF) 71kB Feb4 20).

Submit an Officer Nomination » Officer Roles and Responsibilities »

Section and Division Elected Officers

If interested in section and/or division leadership, please see individual websites for further information and to express interest.

NAGT Committee Positions

NAGT has several standing committees whose membership includes a combination of ex officio and at-large members. These committees have specific charges and tasks and report to the Executive Committee. These committees may not always be seeking new members, but your nomination will remain active for three years. Contact the Executive Office for information on which committees are seeking new members.


  • Neil Miner Award Committee
  • James H. Shea Award Committee
  • Dottie Stout Professional Development Grants Committee
  • Field Camp Scholarship Committee
  • Gary Fuis and Stacey Andrews Scholarship Committee
  • Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award (OESTA) Committee
  • Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award Committee


  • Advocacy Committee
  • Development Committee
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee
  • Professional Development Planning Committee
  • Teach the Earth Website subcommittee
  • Webinar Subcommittee

To learn more and see current membership, visit the NAGT Committee Page.

Submit a Committee Nomination »

Editor Positions

NAGT has several publications, news outlets, and social media accounts managed by Editors, associate editors, and/or editorial boards.

JGE Associate Editor

Associate Editors (AEs) manage the peer review process for manuscripts submitted to JGE. When assigned a paper by an editor, they seek out and invite appropriate peer reviewers, provide guidance to authors about responding to reviewer comments, and make recommendations to the editors about how to proceed with the manuscript. AEs serve three-year terms, beginning in January and serving through December of the third year. We solicit applications for new associate editors in the fall of each year.

Learn more about becoming an Associate Editor

JGE Editor-in-Chief

The Editor for the Journal of Geoscience Education is appointed by the Executive Committee for a three- to five-year term coinciding with the editing of three to five volumes. The Editor may be re-appointed for additional terms without limit. Associate editor(s) and/or editorial board are appointed by the Editor.

In the Trenches Editor-in-Chief

The Editor for In the Trenches is appointed by the NAGT Executive Committee for a three- to five-year term coinciding with the editing of three to five volumes. The Editor may be re-appointed for additional terms without limit. Associate editor(s) and/or an editorial board are appointed by the Editor.

Media Editor

The Media Editor takes the lead on providing accurate and timely information to NAGT members and the community through its newsletter and social media. The Media Editor works closely with the Executive Office staff to assemble and broadcast the monthly newsletter, and with the leadership to ensure that NAGT's public face aligns with the vision, mission, and goals of the organization.

NAGT is currently seeking a Media Editor. Learn more and apply by October 2, 2023.

Learn more about serving as NAGT's Media Editor