Regional Sections

The Sections are the presence of the NAGT in local geographic areas. But the Sections are not just a way of organizing NAGT members. Many great things happen at the local level in NAGT.

Activities at the Section level reach deep into the grassroots of geoscience education in North America. Some Sections run extensive field conferences that are very popular with K-12 teachers and community college faculty. Others have very popular regional meetings where educators can gather to share ideas and materials. All of them have award programs for educators and students. The Sections are really where the "rubber hits the road."

Join Now »

Eastern Section

Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Virginia, West Virginia, and eastern Ontario

The Eastern Section includes professionals involved in all levels of geoscience education who enjoy association as colleagues and friends. Our best opportunity to work and play together is during our annual spring conference where we welcome educators in all stages of their career to renew enthusiasm for geoscience teaching.

Far Western Section

Arizona, California, Hawaii, and Nevada

The Far West Section has very popular and well-attended field conferences each fall and spring. See our website for more information about section opportunities.

Northeastern Section

Connecticut, Massachussetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, and Quebec

The Northeastern Section is comprised of college-level, K-12, and informal geoscience educators, as well as others interested in issues surrounding Earth Science Education in our region. We welcome all community members to our annual meeting (in November or December, date posted) as well as on our local field trips. Most years we host a presence at the NE GSA meetings—so come by and say hello and get involved to promote and enhance geoscience education in our area!

North Central Section

Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, eastern Nebraska, eastern North Dakota, Ohio, eastern South Dakota, Wisconsin, Manitoba, Nunavut, western Ontario, and Saskatchewan

Pacific Northwest Section

Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, and Yukon

Each year the Pacific Northwest Section hosts its annual conference in late June. The conference includes field trips and talks focusing on locations that can be "taken back to the classroom" via spectacular photo and sample collecting opportunities. Come experience the world class geology and scenery of the Pacific Northwest!

Rocky Mountain Section

Colorado, Montana, western Nebraska, western North Dakota, New Mexico, western South Dakota, western Texas, Utah, Wyoming, Alberta, and Northwest Territories

Southeastern Section

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Puerto Rico

South Central Section

Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and eastern Texas

      Next Page »