Stimulation of Interest in the Earth Sciences: Neil Miner Award

Neil Alden Miner
Neil Alden Miner, 1898-1947
Jump down to: Award Recipients | Make a Nomination

Neil Alden Miner: September 9, 1898 - September 16, 1947

The Award

Each year, the NAGT presents the Neil Miner Award to an individual for exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth sciences. The Award, presented each year since 1953, commemorates Neil Miner's concern for personal excellence and effective teaching. His ideals, his notably unselfish outlook on life, and his personal philosophy inspired his fellow teachers as well as his students. The Neil Miner Award is presented annually at the NAGT luncheon held during the national meeting of the Geological Society of America.

Award Recipients

2023 Award Recipient: Sharon K. Cooper, Columbia University, New York

Past Recipients

Make a Nomination

Neil Miner in the field
Neil Miner in the field
NAGT members may nominate any geoscience educator for this award. The nominator must submit only the following. Please do not include additional materials:

  1. a letter of nomination stating why the nominee is an outstanding geoscience teacher.
  2. up to a maximum of four letters of support no more than two pages in length. At least one letter each should come from a student, a colleague, and an administrator. All letters must be written specifically for the Neil Miner Award nomination.
  3. the nominee's curriculum vitae.

The award winner is chosen by a committee consisting of the President of the Association, who serves as Chair; the immediate Past-President; the Secretary/treasurer; and two members recommended by the Executive Committee. Nominations not selected for the award will be considered for two subsequent years.

Nomination Deadline is April 15.

You may submit all nomination materials through the online nomination form or send them all together in one package to:

Neil Miner Award
c/o Carleton College W-SERC
One North College Street 
Northfield, MN 55057