Geoscience Careers at Two-Year Colleges

December 2, 2022

TIMES 9:00 am PT | 10:00 am MT | 11:00 am CT | 12:00 pm ET

Registration Deadline: November 30, 2022

Presenters

  • Karen M. Layou, Reynolds Community College (moderator)
  • Pete Berquist, Virginia Peninsula Community College (panelist)
  • Deron Carter, Linn-Benton Community College (panelist)
  • Beth Johnson, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh, Fox Cities Campus (panelist)
  • Sean Tvelia, Suffolk County Community College (panelist)

Webinar Description

Join us for a lively panel discussion with 2YC geoscience faculty from across the United States! Given that nearly half of all undergraduates start their journey of higher education at community colleges, the need for outstanding introductory geoscience teaching is great. This webinar will explore career opportunities for geoscientists at 2YCs, emphasizing not only aspects of teaching, but also opportunities for collaboration and professional development for geoscience faculty across their departments, institutions, and the nation.

Webinar Goals

We aim to:

  • Explain the variation in two-year college geoscience departments across the country
  • Highlight how teaching at two-year institutions is different than teaching at four-year institutions
  • Share examples of the diverse array of professional opportunities beyond teaching available to 2YC faculty
  • Provide suggestions to those seeking employment at two-year institutions

Resources

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact John McDaris (jmcdaris@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.

Advertisement for NAGT Travelling Workshops Program
[creative commons]
Provenance: NAGT
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.
EER23 Promo
[creative commons]
Provenance: NAGT
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.


      Next Page »

Advertisement