Creating compelling and effective teaching activities for Teach the Earth

Thursday, January 28, 2021

9:00am PT | 10:00am MT | 11:00am CT | 12:00pm ET

Register for the webinar

Registration Deadline: Tuesday, January 26

Presenter

Kyle Fredrick, California University of Pennsylvania

Webinar Description

The webinar will focus on two major themes: developing effective classroom activities that challenge and excite your students and optimizing those activities for the review process for contributed activities to Teach the Earth. Participants will use the review rubric and best practices established from thousands of previous activities to create their best, most transferrable teaching activities. You will gain insights into what other teachers value in content and pedagogy, as well as learn about the review process and how to get more involved in the community of geoscience educators.

Webinar Goals

By the end of the webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Navigate the Teach the Earth activity submission tool;
  • Create effective, adaptable activities "beginning with the end in mind;"
  • Include accessibility and inclusion principles in their course and activity development;
  • Articulate the priorities of reviewers to produce teaching activities that achieve Exemplary status.

Logistics

Register for the webinar

Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be email to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Mitchell Bender-Awalt (mawalt@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.

Resources


      Next Page »

Advertisement