(Suddenly) Teaching Geoscience Online

This webinar is part of the NAGT Webinar Series.

April 1, 2020

1 pm PT | 2 pm MT | 3 pm CT | 4 pm ET

This event has already occurred.

Panel Presenters

Andy Bobyarchick, University of North Carolina Charlotte
Lindsay Iredale, Normandale Community College
Adrianne A. Leinbach, Wake Technical Community College
Gretchen Miller, Wake Technical Community College
Donald Reed, San Jose State University

Jump to Resources »

Webinar Evaluation Survey »

Recording

Powerpoint Presentation (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 27.9MB Apr1 20)

Webinar Description

Many instructors are being asked to teach online for the first time with little advance notice. This webinar provides a rapid introduction to the elements of successful online geoscience teaching from a panel of seasoned online instructors. It will also overview available (and growing) resources for teaching geoscience online -- including both pedagogy and content elements. The webinar's five panelists have more than 50 years of combined online teaching experience. They will give advice from known best practices and personal experience on the topics of: planning & strategy, materials presentation, student engagement, and assessment. After brief presentations from each panelist and SERC/NAGT professional development leaders, the webinar will open to questions from the participants.

Although the panelists for this webinar teach at the college and university level, many of the resources and strategies are relevant to secondary-education level too.

Webinar Goals

Participants will learn about:

  • Examples of existing online courses
  • Strategies for moving geoscience instruction online
  • Existing and developing resource portal(s) for online teaching materials
  • How to Join the Community for Teaching Geoscience Online

Webinar Leaders

Beth Pratt-Sitaula, UNAVCO (NAGT Professional Development Committee)
John McDaris, SERC-Carleton College

Resources from the Webinar

Teach the Earth: Teaching Geoscience OnlineTeach the Earth: Online Teaching MaterialsOn the Cutting Edge: Quick Transition to Online TeachingBest Practices for Teaching About Earth OnlineView Virtual Events About Teaching Geoscience Online

Physical Geology

Oceanography

Hydrology

Rocks and Minerals

Other


     

Advertisement