Webinar Series Banner-12.png


Schedule

Looking for a past webinar? Visit the Archives


Implementing the NGSS

Greenland Ice Melt Circle

Using an American Museum of Natural History Teaching Case to Analyze and Interpret Patterns of Ice Mass Loss in Greenland and Antarctica

Presenter: David Randle, American Museum of Natural History

Date: Thursday, January 14, 2021
Time: 1:00pm PT | 2:00pm MT | 3:00pm CT | 4:00pm ET

The American Museum of Natural History has produced a series of teaching cases that use videos, age-appropriate readings, and data analysis tools to help students contextualize and draw conclusions from large sets of scientific data. In this session we will look at a teaching case that tells the story of NASA's GRACE satellites with a focus on the effects of climate change on the Greenland and Antarctic ice sheets.




Project EDDIE

cloud_tops_from_space_circle.jpg

R Studio for everyone - How to teach and use RStudio Cloud in the Classroom

Presenter: Tanya Josek, Illinois State University

Register »

Date: Friday, January 22, 2021
Time: 11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET

This webinar will focus on how to use R-Studio Cloud in the classroom. We will discuss uses of R in general, how it has been implemented into online EDDIE Modules, and what use looks like in the classroom. Finally, we will also go through some example activities within the webinar.




NAGT

Teach the Earth circle image

Creating compelling and effective teaching activities for Teach the Earth

Presenter: Kyle Fredrick, California University of Pennsylvania

Register »

Date: Thursday, January 28, 2021
Time: 9:00am PT | 10:00am MT | 11:00am CT | 12:00pm ET

The webinar will focus on two major themes: developing effective classroom activities that challenge and excite your students and optimizing those activities for the review process for contributed activities to Teach the Earth. Participants will use the review rubric and best practices established from thousands of previous activities to create their best, most transferrable teaching activities. You will gain insights into what other teachers value in content and pedagogy, as well as learn about the review process and how to get more involved in the community of geoscience educators.




NAGT

WNYSummit2019 finale_circle.JPG

The NAGT Draft Position Statement on Climate Change Learning

Presenters: Don Haas, Director of Teacher Programming, The Paleontological Research Institution
Mike Phillips, Geology Professor, Illinois Valley Community College

Register »

Date: Thursday, February 4, 2021
Time: 11:00am PT | 12:00am MT | 1:00am CT | 2:00pm ET

The Advocacy Committee has drafted both a new position statement on "Teaching Climate Change", and crafted new processes for adopting position statements and keeping them current. This webinar session will introduce the statement, seek feedback on it, discuss the utility of professional organizations' position statements, and both share and seek insights on improving the processes of developing, disseminating, and leveraging position statements for improving educational outcomes.




Implementing the NGSS

Soil Circle

Soil Biology, Chemistry, and Physics... Oh My!

Presenters: Briana Wyatt, Assistant Professor, Texas A&M University (SSSA K12 Committee Chair)
Jenn DeBruyn, Associate Professor, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Owen Duckworth, Professor, North Carolina State University

Register »

Date: Thursday, February 11, 2021
Time: 1:00pm PT | 2:00pm MT | 3:00pm CT | 4:00pm ET

Soil is so much more than what food is grown in, we walk on, or move out of the way to build houses or buildings on. It's complex, life-giving, and is critical for a balanced ecosystem. Our three presenters will provide a background on each (what it is, why it's important, and ideas for classroom activities). We'll wrap-up with additional resources and learn a bit about careers in these three areas. This webinar is presented by members of the Soil Science Society of America.




NAGT

NASA Data

Getting Started with NASA Data: Mapping Hazards from Space

Presenters: Cynthia Hall, NASA Earth Science Data Systems Program
Sara Lubkin, NASA Earth Science Data Systems Program

Register »

Date: Tuesday, February 23, 2021
Time: 10:00am PT | 11:00am MT | 12:00pm CT | 1:00pm ET

NASA's Earth science data collections provide a wealth of information to aid in our understanding of Earth's processes, in the development of innovative solutions for real-world challenges, and in making data-based decisions. Specifically, NASA data are being used by researchers and decision makers in forecasting hazards, understanding community risk and response, and in assessing post-hazard impacts. The data are all freely and openly available. In this session, we will showcase resources at earthdata.nasa.gov to help in data access, retrieval, and use, as well as highlight three use cases of data in action: sea level change, urban heat islands, and earthquake deformation.




Project EDDIE

Statistical Vignette Logo Circle

Improving Statistical Skills Through Storytelling

Presenters: Diana Garcia Silva, CUNY Queens
Dax Soule, CUNY Queens

Register »

Date: Due to unforeseen circumstances, this webinar has been postponed- new date TBA
Time: 11:00am PT | 12:00pm MT | 1:00pm CT | 2:00pm ET

Statistical Vignettes focus on quantitative concepts that have been commonly found to be difficult for undergraduate students to accomplish when utilizing statistics like significant figures and correlation when analyzing data. The goal of these vignettes is to address statistical misconceptions and improve quantitative reasoning skills through an engaging storyline with diverse characters. Each vignette is intended to guide students and instructors through the material as either a stand-alone teaching aid or in conjunction with EDDIE modules.


Join the email list to receive timely updates

Add your information below and click submit to join the email list.


* required

* required

* required


Advertisement