Guiding Students to use Data to Support their Scientific Reasoning

12/12/2022

TIMES 10:00 am PT | 11:00 am MT | 12:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm ET

Registration Deadline: 12/10/2022

Presenters

Kathleen Browne, Rider University
Andrea Drewes, Rider University
Sage Lichtenwalner, Rutgers University
Gabriela Smalley, Rider University

Webinar Description

Scientific reasoning is complex, and many of our students struggle to excel in this skill. With the support of an NSF IUSE grant, we are currently testing a new strategy built into intro oceanography courses, with early results showing success. During our DCER instructional framework, students initially are asked to thoroughly describe an online, interactive data set. We then guide students to use evidence from the data descriptions, relevant science content, and scientific reasoning to support a conclusion. This session will provide background on our strategy and hands-on experience with some of the steps we use to guide our students. We will use examples in the ocean sciences that attendees could adapt for other content areas.

Webinar Goals

The goals of this webinar are to:

  1. provide salient background on a scaffolded approach to data literacy skills development:
  2. engage participants in some of the steps we've used with students;
  3. provide participants with the opportunity to begin brainstorming relevant interactive data sets to put these strategies to use in their own setting

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact John McDaris (jmcdaris@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.

Advertisement for NAGT Travelling Workshops Program
[creative commons]
Provenance: NAGT
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.
EER23 Promo
[creative commons]
Provenance: NAGT
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.


      Next Page »

Advertisement