Towards a more inclusive geosciences: Teaching strategies and policies to support all students

Click to view or download the webinar recording (MP4 Video 253.9MB May17 22).

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

12:00 pm PT | 1:00 pm MT | 2:00 pm CT | 3:00 pm ET

Registration Deadline has passed.

Presenters

Phoebe Cohen, Chair and Associate Professor of Geosciences, Williams College
Lisa White, Assistant Director, University of California Museum of Paleontology

Resources

Webinar Description

Building an inclusive and equitable discipline requires ensuring that our educational settings are accessible, welcoming, and supportive of all who wish to engage in the geosciences. In this webinar, Dr. White and Dr. Cohen will discuss examples of strategies and policies that they have used in a variety of settings, including classrooms, museums, and online. Participants will have an opportunity to try out exercises and brainstorm ways to adapt them to local needs.

Webinar goals

Participants will be able to:

  1. Articulate the science research into teaching approaches that support all learners
  2. Identify opportunities for policies that ensure all learners can be successful
  3. Adapt teaching exercises for their own usage

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Bradlee Cotton (bcotton@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.

Advertisement for NAGT Travelling Workshops Program
[creative commons]
Provenance: NAGT
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.
Advertisement for 2022 Earth Educators' Rendezvous
[creative commons]
Provenance: NAGT
Reuse: This item is offered under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ You may reuse this item for non-commercial purposes as long as you provide attribution and offer any derivative works under a similar license.


     

Advertisement