NAGT > Professional Development > Webinars > Field Camp: Do's and Don'ts

Field Camp: Do's and Don'ts

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Webinar Recording

Presenters:

Carolina Ortiz , University of Florida
Megan Borel, University of Florida
Caroline Quanbeck, University of Florida


This webinar is presented by the Association for Women Geoscientists (AWG)-Northern Florida Chapter and supported by National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT).

Summary

Come and learn about what to expect on your field camp this summer and more! Talks will be given by University of Florida graduate students with field camp experience and they will talk about physical preparation, what to pack, how to care for yourself in the field, how to mentally and emotionally care for yourself at field camp, how to deal with feminine hygiene in the field, and to perform academically.

Tentative Program

  1. Welcome
  2. Before field camp - Importance of physical preparation (get fit and don't be sedentary), what gear to invest in, what is important to pack, important feminine products to pack, how to pack for cramps
  3. During field camp - Self care (sunscreen, mosquito repellent, get to know people, stretch, and hydrate), mental health care (giving yourself personal space, how to work in groups, handling peer conflicts), academic preparations (whats important to record in notebook and what to study up on), how to pack out waste
  4. After field camp - Academics (do your work, don't put it off), how to stay safe
  5. Questions and Answers

Logistics

Time - 1:30 pm PT |2:30 pm MT | 3:30 pm CT | 4:30 pm ET
Duration
- 1 hour
Format
- Online web presentation via Zoom meeting software with questions and discussion. Go to the webinar technology page for information on using Zoom. Detailed instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to registered participants one day prior to the webinar.

Please email Andrew Haveles (ahaveles@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.


      Next Page »

Advertisement