Initial Publication Date: April 21, 2021

Recent and Ongoing Efforts of the NAGT Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Click to view or download the webinar recording (MP4 Video 167.1MB May19 21).

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

1:00pm PT | 2:00pm MT | 3:00pm CT | 4:00pm ET

Registration Deadline has passed.


Laura Rademacher, NAGT DEI Committee Chair, University of the Pacific
Leah Courtland, University of Indianapolis
Amy Weislogel, NAGT DEI Committee Secretary, West Virginia University
Steve Mattox, Grand Valley State University
Mimi Fuhrman, Assessment and content specialist, ACT Inc
Danielle Sumy, The IRIS Consortium
Yadira Ibarra, San Francisco State University
Samuel Nyarko, Western Michigan University


Webinar Description

Join committee members for updates on our activities over the past year and our current projects that include connecting arms of NAGT working on DEI activities, developing an EER workshop on Developing Strategies for Inclusive Teaching Practices, writing blog posts to share the diversity of geoscientists, and establishing NAGT's first DEI award. After our brief update, we welcome NAGT members to join in the discussion and share their ideas for future work.

Webinar goals

  • Update NAGT membership on DEI committee activities
  • Generate ideas for future work from NAGT members
  • Begin an action plan for incorporating new ideas with existing mandates


Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be email to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Bradlee Cotton ( if you have any questions about this event.