NAGT > Professional Development > Workshops > Implementing the NGSS > Classroom Assessment Strategies for NGSS Earth and Space Sciences

Classroom Assessment Strategies for NGSS Earth and Space Sciences

February 11, 2016 1:00 PM Pacific | 2:00 PM Mountain | 3:00 PM Central | 4:00 PM Eastern

This webinar has already happened.

Click to watch the screencast.
Download the Webinar Slides (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 24.4MB Feb11 16)

Classroom Assessment Strategies for NGSS Earth and Space Sciences
Click to view

Webinar Description

More than 75% of United States students reside in states and districts which have adopted or adapted the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). The three-dimensional nature of NGSS student learning requires new classroom assessment strategies to demonstrate that learning. Teacher preparation and professional learning professionals, district and state science supervisors and other science education leaders must be prepared to support a new way of thinking about assessment. Time for questions and discussion will be included. Presenters will describe concrete ways to approach NGSS assessment in the classroom, using Earth and Space Science examples wherever possible.

Presenters:

  • William Penuel (University of Colorado)
  • Kathy Comfort (WestEd)

Webinar Organizers:

Susan Sullivan (CIRES, U of Colorado) susan.sullivan at colorado.edu
Aida Awad (Maine East High School, Park Ridge, IL)
Edward Robeck (American Geosciences Institute)
John McDaris (National Association of Geoscience Teachers)
With the NGSS Earth and Space Science Working Group


      Next Page »