Traveling through time with the International Ocean Discovery Program: Scientific ocean drilling reveals Earth's past

Thursday, April 11, 2024

1:00 pm Pacific | 2:00 pm Mountain | 3:00 pm Central | 4:00 pm Eastern

Registration

Registation is closed. The webinar will be recorded and posted to this webinar page.

Presenters

Edward Robeck, American Geosciences Institute (AGI)
Lauren Brase, AGI
Lindsay Mossa, AGI
Carlos Alvarez Zarikian, International Ocean Discovery Program

Webinar Description

The JOIDES Resolution (JR) is a ship that operates on behalf of the International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP) and is one of just a handful of vessels designed specifically to drill into the ocean floor for scientific research. The cylinders of sediment and rock that are recovered from the ocean floor—called "cores"—can be considered time machines, revealing secrets from Earth's past about geology, climate change, and the origins and extremes of life. The evidence these cores provide gives a vital foundation and real-world data for understanding key topics addressed in NGSS performance expectations.

In this session, participants will learn how to incorporate free JR resources into their curricula to make science real for their students. Attendees will take part in activities related to cores and microfossils, and will learn how to access resources including additional classroom activities and core replicas that can be borrowed for classroom use. Participants will come away with data-based resources that will get students engaged in real-world science.

Register today and join us on this exciting journey!

Logistics

Duration: 1 hour
Format: Presentations will take place through a Zoom Meeting screen-sharing session. The webinar will be recorded.
Accessing the Webinar: Instructions for joining the webinar will be emailed to participants the day before the event. Learn more about accessing the webinar.
Questions? Please contact Holly Kelchner (hkelchner@carleton.edu) if you have any questions about this event.

Webinar Organizers:

Aida Awad (NAGT)
Missy Holzer (NESTA)
Ed Robeck (AGI)
Holly Kelchner (NAGT)

With the NGSS Earth and Space Science Working Group