Professional Development Grants: Dorothy Stout Grants

Jump down to: Grant Recipients | Apply for the Grant

The Award

Dottie Stout was the first female president of NAGT and was active as a strong supporter of Earth science education at all levels. In honor of Dottie's outstanding work and lifelong dedication to Earth science education, NAGT gives these grants to faculty and students at two-year colleges and K-12 teachers in support of the following:

  • Participation in Earth science classes or workshops
  • Attendance at professional scientific or science education meetings
  • Participation in Earth science field trips
  • Purchase of Earth science materials for classroom use

Awards of $750 will be made annually in three categories: Community College Faculty, Community College Student, and K-12 Educator. Award winners will also be given a one-year membership to the National Association of Geoscience Teachers including these member benefits!


Community college faculty and K-12 teachers who teach one or more Earth science courses and community college students actively pursuing a career in the Earth sciences are encouraged to apply for these grants.

Dorothy "Dottie" LaLonde Stout:
January 30, 1941-August 26, 2001

Grant Recipients

2023 Grant Recipients

  • Kirk Benson, Arapahoe County Schools, District #1, Englewood, CO
  • Linnea Delucchi, Becket Academy, Denver, CO
  • James Ng, Maywood Center for Enriched Studies, Los Angeles, CA

Past Recipients

Application Process

Interested applicants are asked to submit a 1-2 page proposal describing how the grant will be used to support their professional growth in, or classroom teaching of Earth science. Please include your name, address, telephone number, and email address along with your proposal. Details about the budget are strongly recommended.

You may submit your materials via our online proposal form or send them to:

Dottie Stout Professional Development Grants
c/o Carleton College W-SERC
1 North College Street
Northfield, MN 55057

Applications must be received by April 15th.

The contact person for this program is:

Monica Bruckner

If you wish to contribute to the fund supporting these awards, please contact the NAGT Executive Director's office.