Dorothy Stout Professional Development Awards

Picture of Dottie LaLonde Stout
Jump down to: Award Recipients | Apply for the Award

Dorothy "Dottie" LaLonde Stout:
January 30, 1941-August 26, 2001

The Award

Dottie Stout was the first female president of NAGT and was active as a strong supporter of Earth science education at all levels. In honor of Dottie's outstanding work and lifelong dedication to Earth science education, NAGT gives these awards to faculty and students at two-year colleges and K-12 teachers in support of the following:

  • Participation in Earth science classes or workshops
  • Attendance at professional scientific or science education meetings
  • Participation in Earth science field trips
  • Purchase of Earth science materials for classroom use

Awards of $750 will be made annually in three categories: Community College Faculty, Community College Student, and K-12 Educator. Award winners will also be given a one-year membership to the National Association of Geoscience Teachers, which includes an online subscription to the Journal of Geoscience Education and the In The Trenches magazine.


Community college Faculty and K-12 teachers who teach one or more Earth science courses and community college students actively pursuing a career in the Earth sciences are encouraged to apply for these awards.

Award Recipients

2021 Award Recipients

  • LaChandra Hooper, Sheppard Air Force Base Elementary, Sheppard AFB, TX
  • Pamela Baker, Alma Bryant High School, Irvington, AL
  • Alex Ullrich, Georgia State University - Perimeter College, Atlanta, GA

2021 Award Recipients

Past Recipients

Application Process

Interested applicants are asked to submit a 1-2 page proposal describing how the award will be used to support their professional growth in, or classroom teaching of Earth science. Please include your name, address, telephone number, and email address along with your proposal.

You may submit your materials via our online form or send them to:

Dottie Stout Professional Development Awards
c/o Carleton College W-SERC
1 North College Street
Northfield, MN 55057

Applications must be received by April 15th.

The contact person for this program is:

Monica Bruckner

If you wish to contribute to the fund supporting these awards, please contact the Executive Director's office.