NewsHeader_October_2020 copy.jpg
An archive of past NAGTNews messages and online supplements for In the Trenches are also available to NAGT members.
Follow NAGT on Facebook and Twitter!
Facebook logo
https://twitter.com/nagtgeo?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor]

News

Upcoming Webinars

Deadlines

Section and Division Highlights

From Our Members

NAGT Career Hub

Rock and Mineral Exchange

News

Submit Online Rendezvous Proposals and Ideas by October 15

We welcome your input and invite you to share your suggestions for the Rendezvous program or submit a proposal for a workshop or roundtable you want to lead. The committee will review all suggestions and work to create a balanced program that serves diverse audiences. The deadline for all suggestions and proposals is October 15, 2020.

Nominate Your Colleagues or Yourself for NAGT Committee Positions

NAGT is currently seeking nominations for individuals wishing to serve on the Shea Award Committee, Advocacy Committee, and Scholarships for Field Study Committee. Learn more about each committee by visiting the NAGT Committees page. NAGT is looking for individuals with varied experiences, perspectives, and backgrounds across region, race, gender, age, and identity to uphold the association's mission of supporting a diverse, inclusive, and thriving community of educators and education researchers. Please use this form to nominate yourself or a colleague for these committee positions. Nominations must be received received by October 15, 2020.

NAGT Members Invited to Comment on Federal STEM Education Strategic Plan by October 19

The National Science Foundation (NSF) requests input related to the implementation of the Federal STEM Education Strategic Plan, Charting a Course For Success: America's Strategy for STEM Education. The NAGT Advocacy Committee and Executive Director are developing a response from the organization, but individuals are also invited to comment. See the request for information to submit a formal comment.

Join us for the Earth Educators' Fall Reception at GSA

The 2020 Earth Educators' Fall Reception will be held on Wednesday, October 21, 4pm PDT/5pm MDT/6pm CDT/7pm EDT. Co-sponsored by NAGT, NAGT's 2YC, GER, and TED divisions, and the SACNAS GeoFutures Program. Join us for an informal networking and social event, hosted virtually using Remo. Grab your favorite beverage or snack, and login to connect with other Earth Educators around the globe! Active membership or conference registration are NOT required.

Check out NAGT Sponsored Sessions and Activities at GSA and AGU

NAGT-sponsored activities, sessions, and short courses at GSA and AGU highlight key issues of importance to geoscience educators at all levels:

Apply to Serve as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Geoscience Education

Do you enjoy reviewing manuscripts and providing constructive feedback to authors? Are you interested in engaging more deeply in the review process? Would you like to be more involved in the geoscience education community? If so, you might be interested in serving as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Geoscience Education (JGE). Please visit this page to learn more about the role. If you have questions, please contact Kim Hannula, incoming editor-in-chief of JGE at hannula_k@fortlewis.edu. Apply by November 1, 2020.

New Collection of Resources and Activities Available for Teaching with Online Field Experiences

Faculty have developed many innovative ways to teach field skills in an online format. The new Teaching with Online Field Experiences in the Teach the Earth collection includes resources to support instructors in designing, implementing, and assessing online field experiences that can reach all students. There is a corresponding GSA session related to this project: 154: T240. Teaching Field Geology without the Field: Providing a Robust Capstone Experience through Digital Resources I Kurtis Burmeister, Dept of Geological & Environmental Sciences, University of the Pacific, Stockton, CA, Christopher Atchison, Cincinnati, OH, Basil Tikoff, Department of Geoscience, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI, Anne E. Egger, Geological Sciences and Science Education, Central Washington University, Ellensburg, WA and Katherine Ryker, School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC.

CLEAN Launches Elementary Collection

CLEAN has curated the start of their new Elementary Collection with over 65 resources specifically chosen and reviewed for elementary students. These resources focus on climate topics and teaching strategies that will help students build foundational climate knowledge. The website offers easy-to-use explanations of issues teachers may encounter or ideas they should consider when designing and implementing elementary climate and energy teaching curriculum. Each page is illustrated with examples to help teachers determine best practices for their own classrooms.

Webinars (only) copy.png

October 15: NGSS-ESS Mini-series: MORE! Remote Teaching & Learning Resources, part 2 will be held on Thursday, October 15, 2020 at 1:00 pm PT | 2:00 pm MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00 pm ET. Join us for this second webinar in the mini-series where you will learn about more freely available classroom resources from organizations that you'll want to explore for use in your "classroom." The resources focus on providing opportunities for high levels of student engagement and rigor for virtual, face-to-face or hybrid teaching. Each resource provider will have 2-3 minutes to share their resource with the webinar participants. There will be an opportunity for Q&A during the webinar as well. Register by October 13, 2020.

October 21: Running online internship programs: successes and challenges will be held on Wednesday, October 21 at 12:00pm PT | 1:00pm MT | 2:00pm CT | 3:00pm ET. As with many other activities, summer internship programs needed to turn to an online format to continue during pandemic shutdowns. This webinar will overview challenges encountered and successes achieved in three UNAVCO internship programs held online in summer 2020. The lessons learned can inform future efforts that use online or hybrid models, and will review the online communication tools used, strategies for facilitating online programs, and the evidence-based outcomes assessed by an external evaluator. Register by October 19, 2020.

November 5: CUAHSI Services for the Water-Education Community will be held on Thursday, November 5, 2020 at 9:00am PT | 10:00am MT | 11:00am CT | 12:00pm ET. This webinar will provide an overview of the Consortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. (CUAHSI) to the NAGT community. Topics will include CUAHSI's Data and Compute Services for discovering, sharing, archiving, and publishing water-related data and other resources such as geologic information. In addition CUAHSI's services for enabling reproducible workflows and code sharing through Jupyter notebooks will be reviewed, as well as computational services. Finally, CUAHSI's services for supporting education and outreach to the community will be discussed. A representative for a CUAHSI member institution will discuss ways in which her Geology department has benefited from CUAHSI's educational and data services. Register by November 3, 2020.

November 12: Passing the Sniff Test: What Matters Most When Looking at Earth and Space Science Instructional Materials will be held on Thursday, November 12 at 1:00 pm PT | 2:00 pm MT | 3:00 pm CT | 4:00 pm ET. Should you trust Earth and Space Science materials that claim to be "100% aligned to the NGSS"? In this webinar hosted by NextGenScience, participants will consider what really matters when developing, selecting, or modifying instructional materials and go through the evidence-collection and analysis process to determine the quality of materials for yourself. Register by November 10, 2020.

Deadlines

October 13: NGSS-ESS Mini-series: MORE! Remote Teaching & Learning Resources, part 2 webinar will be held on October 15. Register by October 13, 2020.

October 15: Share your suggestions for the Online Rendezvous 2021 program or submit a proposal for a workshop or roundtable you want to lead by October 15, 2020.

October 15: Nominate your colleagues or yourself for NAGT Committee positions to serve on the Shea Award Committee, Advocacy Committee, and Scholarships for Field Study Committee. Nominate by October 15, 2020.

October 15: NAGT's Traveling Workshops Program application deadline is coming up this October. Apply by October 15, 2020.

October 19: Running online internship programs: successes and challenges webinar will be held on October 21. Register by October 19, 2020.

November 3: CUAHSI Services for the Water-Education Community webinar will be held on November 5. Register by November 3, 2020.

November 10: Passing the Sniff Test: What Matters Most When Looking at Earth and Space Science Instructional Materials webinar will be held on November 12. Register by November 10, 2020.

Ongoing - NAGT Career Hub: NAGT Career Hub allows institutions and organizations to advertise geoscience education related job openings, postdoctoral positions, internships, assistantships, and undergraduate research opportunities. All Career Hub postings are also featured in the NAGTNews e-newsletter and on NAGT's social media. Learn more about posting your opportunity to Career Hub.

Section and Division Highlights

GER Division

  • Are you interested in joining a small group of writers? Do you want to develop a regular, scheduled, and committed writing practice? Would you like to give and receive feedback (or just generally chat about writing projects) with colleagues? Currently a small writing circle is meeting each Friday online from 11:00 am to 2:00pm ET, and is open to receiving new members. The writing circle is a continuation of writing retreats that were held at prior Rendezvous. If interested, please contact Peggy McNeal, pmcneal@towson.edu

TED Division

  • The TED Division's annual business meeting will be Thursday, October 22 at 12:30pm PT/3:30pm ET. Web link and call-in info will be provided closer to the date. At this meeting, TED priorities for 2020-2021 will be set, new officers will begin work, and your participation is more valuable than ever; tell us what you want this Division to do for you and with you!
  • Feel free to post time-critical info on the TED Division Facebook page.

From Our Members.png

PlanetGeo Science Podcast Conveys Excitement of the Geosciences to a Broad Audience

Introducing PlanetGeo, a science podcast for the layperson! Join Chris and Jesse - a high school teacher and a geoscience professor - in discussing Earth Sciences' impact on everyday lives. This podcast examines socially and economically important issues, newsworthy events, and suggested topics that can be used as an educational tool in the classroom, as well as for general listening! No prior knowledge required. New episodes air every other Thursday. When you listen, be sure to subscribe and leave a review if you enjoy!

NAGT Career Hub

Updated announcement: Content Specialist, SERC at Carleton College

The Science Education Resource Center (SERC) at Carleton College is looking for a Content Specialist to work as part of the implementation team to support extramurally funded projects fostering STEM learning and promoting institutional change. This person works with the full scope of projects undertaken by SERC to develop and deploy professional development programming for faculty members and instructors, develop new and improve existing websites, and assist in education research and evaluation projects led by people at SERC and partner institutions. Working with other staff and collaborators at Carleton and institutions across the country, this position is called on to take responsibility for completion of projects at a variety of scales. Required qualifications include a bachelor's degree in Earth Science or a closely related field, excellent written and oral communication skills, and significant experience working within deadlines and budget, particularly with external partners. Apply here.

Do you need to advertise a position opening, event, or field trip? Submit your posting to the NAGT Career Hub!


Rock and Mineral Exchange

Available Samples

Petrology Samples

Ophiolite, Tertiary sedimentary, misc metamorphic

Desired Specimens

Precambrian chert. Stromatolites

#50States50rocks

Are you looking for new specimens for your collection? Do you have extra samples to share with colleagues? Post in the Rock and Mineral Exchange.


DidYouLikeThisEmail2.jpg

Facebook logo
Twitter logo


Advertisement