Nominate Exceptional K-12 Teachers for 2017 OEST Awards

NAGT's annual Outstanding Earth Science Teacher (OEST) awards recognize "exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth Sciences at the pre-college level." Any teacher or other K-12 educator who covers a significant amount of Earth science content with their students is eligible. Ten finalists are selected, one from each section. Some sections also recognize state winners. Sectional awards include:

  • Memberships in NAGT, GSA, and a variety of other geoscience organizations
  • Recognition in In the Trenches and on the NAGT website
  • Subscriptions to an assortment of publications including The Professional Geologist and Earth Scientist
  • Eligibility for $500 GSA travel stipends and classroom improvement funds

Individuals may apply themselves or nominate a colleague for the award. Deadlines vary by section. Consult the Sections Page ( to determine your section.


  • Midcontinent – March 31
  • Pacific Northwest – March 31
  • Eastern – April 1
  • Central – May 1
  • Far Western – May 1
  • North Central – May 1
  • Southeast – May 1
  • New England – May 15
  • Southwest – May 15
  • Texas – May 15

To nominate a teacher for this award, complete the online nomination form at