2022 TED Elections

published May 31, 2022 9:16am

It is time to vote for the next cadre of leaders for TED: the Teacher Education Division of NAGT. The ballot includes President, Vice President , Past President, Secretary/Treasurer, and Media Director. Voting begins on June 1 and ends on July 1, 2022.

Officer Candidate Elections


Christopher Roemmele is an Associate Professor in the Earth and Space Sciences Department at West Chester University of Pennsylvania. He teaches Science Methods to the Early Grades Prep and Middle Grades Prep majors, as well as Introductory Geology, and supervises student teachers. He has collaborated with Media faculty to develop a new Science and Communications course ("The Science and Media Connection") and a capstone course for Earth and Space Science majors, The Professional Geoscientist.  He received his PhD. from the Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences Department at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana, focusing on geoscience education. He received his Master's in Science Education from Kean University, and Bachelor's in Geoscience from Franklin and Marshall College. He has published in NSTA's Science Teacher and Science Scope, and NESTA's The Earth Scientist, and presented at GSA, NSTA, and NAGT conference meetings.  Christopher taught high school and middle school earth science for 15 years in New Jersey, during which time he was President of the New Jersey Earth Science Teachers Association.  Christopher's has created a series of demonstration videos and virtual field trips for use in geology courses and studies their influence on students' geologic worldview and understanding.  Other research interests include the utilization, development, and impact of the NGSS Cross Cutting Concepts on science teaching and student learning.

Vice President

Bridget Mulvey is an associate professor of science education at Kent State University in Kent, Ohio. She earned her Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Virginia and a master's degree in geological sciences from Indiana University at Bloomington. She teaches courses in science education for preservice and inservice teachers. She taught middle school and high school earth science and environmental science and now teaches science methods in a teacher education program. Her teaching and research focus on science practices / inquiry, characteristics of scientific knowledge and inquiry, and using technology to support the doing of science and/or to promote science content understandings. Overall, she seeks to improve science teaching and learning for underrepresented groups with a focus on minority, female, and special education teachers and students.

Past President

George Bartuska is a veteran engineer of 25 years, and now a veteran Earth-Space Science teacher of 12 years.  In addition, George has taught AP Environmental Science, Marine Science, Biology, Engineering Technology and Aerospace Technology.  During the summer of 2020 he retired from public school teaching, finished his Doctorate in the summer of 2021, and presently plans to transition into teaching at the college level.  He is a State of Florida - Space Foundation Teacher Liaison representative and also involved with the USAF Space and Missile Museum at the Cape Canaveral Air Force Station. George also serves as Academic Advisor to USAF Civil Air Patrol and teaches adult Coast Guard Auxiliary members in mandated Coastal Marine Weather and Hurricane Preparedness courses. A veteran of the U.S. Navy, he served aboard the U.S.S. John F. Kennedy as an aircraft safety equipment mechanic. Since then, George has emphasized meteorology, oceanography, and space sciences education. For 5 years, he facilitated the Sea Perch Challenge Grant through Embry Riddle Aeronautical University for students to build and operate Remotely Operated Vehicles (ROV) underwater robots. He also obtained grant funding for a GPS Tracked High-Altitude Balloon Launch from the Motorola Corp. and funding from the Polk Education Foundation for GPS Tracked Student Ocean Drifters and a GPS Tracked Miniboat Sailboat, as well as a SPLASH Grant from the Southwest Florida Water Management District to purchase an Aquifer Groundwater Model and other water resources teaching instrumentation.


Wendi J.W. Williams: I am geosciences faculty with South Texas College Department of Physical Sciences and Engineering.  My education has been through Tarrant County (Community) College, University of Texas – Arlington, University of California – Riverside, and University of Texas – El Paso.  I have been affiliated as faculty with NorthWest Arkansas Community College, University of Arkansas - Little Rock, Lewis Clark State College, Lone Star College system, and Austin (Community) College. I also have experience as a Math & Science Partnership Co-Director providing professional development to pre- and in-service teachers, assisted with writing Arkansas NGSS K – 8 Earth Science and Space standards and High School course guides, was an Education Director for a residential nature center, and worked as an Environmental/Engineering Geologist in the private and government sectors.   I promote using inclusive Universal Design in formal and informal educational settings as a practitioner and trainer; examples may be seen at the AGU The Bridge series and NAGT Professional Webinar 28 April 2021 . I have been a NAGT Executive Councilor, continue to serve on the Advocacy Committee as well on the Teacher Education Division's Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee, and contributed to NAGT Teach the Earth Portal content reviews. I am an AGU LANDInGS Ambassador and assist representing the International Association for Geoscience Diversity on the AGI Inter-Society Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee.

Media Director

Katina White is a proud native of Little Rock, AR. Her love and enthusiasm for STEM and youth inspired her to obtain a degree in Middle Childhood Education, with an emphasis in math and science. Katina began her career in education as an Integrated Science, Project Lead the Way, and Robotics Instructor. In this role she successfully led multiple teams to regional and nationals awards in both VEX and BEST robotics.

Katina was awarded 2018 Sherwood Teacher of the Year and 2020 Forest Heights STEM Academy Teacher of the Year. Additionally, she was invited to be a keynote speaker for the 2018 March for Science. Currently, Katina serves as Vice President for the National Technical Association-Arkansas Chapter .She was recently selected as one of twenty five educators across the nation as a 2021 Ford Unsung Hero Award Recipient.

In 2021, Katina merged her passion for equity/inclusion and STEM by accepting an offer and opportunity from UAMS Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. UAMS is the largest academic health center in the state of Arkansas. She is the inaugural Curriculum Coordinator for the UAMS Pathways Academy. This innovative and intentional initiative is a strategic collaboration with Arkansas Division of Workforce Services Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program. In this role, Katina spearheads curriculum design crafted to pique the interest of youth in an effort to one day shift the status quo of today's health care workforce. She's created several award-winning, nationally recognized, culturally-relevant STEM programs and opportunities for grades K-undergraduate. Using multiple pedagogies, she co-creates intentional curriculum tailored to impact and enrich historically excluded youth (minority, rural, low socio-economic, etc.) in underserved areas.