Initial Publication Date: February 10, 2016

NAGT Awards and Scholarships Recognize Outstanding K-12 Earth Science Teachers, Fund Field Study for Undergraduates

Annual NAGT Awards Recognize Outstanding K-12 Teachers

NAGT's annual Outstanding Earth Science Teacher (OEST) awards recognize "exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth Sciences at the pre-college level." Any teacher or other K-12 educator who covers a significant amount of Earth science content with their students is eligible. Ten finalists are selected, one from each section. Some sections also recognize state winners. Sectional awards include:




  • Memberships in NAGT, GSA, and a variety of other geoscience organizations
  • Recognition in In the Trenches and on the NAGT website
  • Subscriptions to an assortment of publications including The Professional Geologist and Earth Scientist
  • Eligibility for $500 GSA travel stipends and classroom improvement funds





Individuals may apply themselves or nominate a colleague for the award. Deadlines vary by section. Consult the Sections Page to determine your section.

Section Deadlines

Midcontinent – March 31
Pacific Northwest – March 31
Eastern – April 1
Central – May 1
Far Western – May 1
North Central – May 1
Southeast – May 1
New England – May 15
Southwest – May 15
Texas – May 15

To nominate a teacher for this award, complete the online nomination form.

Congratulations to 2015 Field Study Scholarship Recipients!

Each year, NAGT awards $750 scholarships to undergraduates to facilitate their study of field geoscience. Previously given to students attending a traditional summer field camp, these awards are now available for students attending field-based courses at any time of year. The intent of the awards is to support participation in intensive field courses in any aspects of geoscience (including geophysics, soil science, hydrology, etc.) that focus on students practicing field observation, data collection, analysis, and synthesis. Awardees are selected based on the importance of the experience to their educational and career goals, the quality of the field aspects of the course, and the importance of the award in enabling them to participate in the program. A collaboration with the Association of Women Geoscientists (AWG) funds two awards specifically for women. For more information and/or to apply, visit the website at: The deadline for receipt of applications is February 14.

2015 Recipients


  • Jenna Adams, Central Washington University
  • Laurel Blackman, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Emily Bunse, Northwest Missouri State University
  • Zachary Burton, Bowdoin College
  • Mark Coleman, Simon Fraser University
  • Erin Conlon, University of Florida
  • Erika Danielsen, SUNY College at Geneseo
  • Vanessa Fernandes, Hofstra University
  • Gregory Hibbard, Pacific Lutheran University
  • Sarah Holmes, Beloit College
  • Sierra Keller, University of California - Santa Cruz
  • Nathan Lentsch, University of Minnesota - Duluth
  • Emma McConville, University of Maryland - College Park
  • Charlene Rogers, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
  • Kelly Sanks, Illinois State University (AWG Crawford Field Camp Scholarship Recipient)
  • Diana Snyder, Georgia State University (AWG Crawford Field Camp Scholarship Recipient)
  • Margaret Sumner-Moore, Bryn Mawr College
  • Yunan Xie, Franklin and Marshall College