NAGT > News and Advertisements > News and Announcements > Officer Election Results for 2013-2014

Officer Election Results for 2013-2014

published Nov 25, 2013 10:18am
We are pleased to announce the 2013-2014 new officers election results.

President: Aida Awad
Ms. Awad has been teaching Physical Geology for the Maine Township High Schools in Des Plaines and Park Ridge, Illinois, since 1993, the past seven years serving as the science department chair at Maine East High School. She also teaches a section of physical geology, a dual credit course, in conjunction with Oakton College.

1st Vice-President: James (Jimm) Myers
Dr. Myers has been on the faculty at the University of Wyoming since 1981. His teaching responsibilities range from introductory undergraduate courses (energy and resources) to advanced graduate courses (thermodynamics). He has been an active participant in numerous SERC Cutting Edge workshops. Just recently, he and his co-PIs have been awarded a new MSP grant to improve science education at the middle and high school levels.

2nd Vice President: Randall Richardson
Dr. Richardson has been a professor in the Department of Geosciences at the University of Arizona since 1978. He has recently returned to research and teaching after serving in several capacities in the Office of Undergraduate Education at the University of Arizona, including Vice-President, for five years. His current activities include curricular reform at the university level and service at the national level through, for example, Project Kaleidoscope, and he recently served one term on the Education and Human Resources committee of the American Geophysical Union.

Councilor: Basil Tikoff
Dr. Tikoff is a Professor in the Department of Geoscience at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He views himself as a quantitative field geologist. He uses a simultaneous combination of field geology, geophysical methods, physical (analog) models, and numerical models to understand three-dimensional deformation. His ongoing projects are on a range of scales and crustal levels in order to consider deformation of the entire lithosphere.

Councilor: John Taber
Dr. Taber is the Education and Outreach Director at Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS). The E&O Program is one of four core programs of IRIS, a university consortium that provides seismic data and equipment for seismologists worldwide. His charge is to advance awareness and understanding of seismology and earth science while inspiring careers in geophysics. The IRIS E&O Program provides products and activities for a variety of audiences, including the general public, K-12 students and educators, and post-secondary students and college faculty.

In The Trenches Editor: Cindy Shellito
Dr. Shellito is an Associate Professor of Meteorology at University of Northern Colorado. Her primary research interests are in modeling deep-time paleoclimate and geoscience education. She teaches courses focusing on themes ranging from paleoclimatology and global climate dynamics to mesoscale meteorology.

Returning Officers:
Past President: Susan Buhr
Secretary/Treasurer: Janis Treworgy
Councilors: Andrew Goodliffe, Tamara Shapiro Ledley, Karl Wirth, Wendi Williams
JGE Editor: Kristen St. John
Historian: Gene Pearson

NAGT is, for the most part, a volunteer organization. It is run by the Executive Committee that includes a president, first vice-president, second vice-president, past president, secretary/treasurer, editor of the Journal of Geoscience Education, executive director, executive representative, and six councilors-at-large. The President and Vice-Presidents serve 1-year terms. The Secretary/Treasurer and Councilors-at-Large are elected for 3-year terms.