Spring NAGT Awards Deadlines

published Mar 19, 2010 8:42am

Neil Miner Award

Nomination Deadline - April 1
Each year, the NAGT presents the Neil Miner Award to an individual for exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the earth sciences. The Award, presented each year since 1953, commemorates Neil Miner's concern for personal excellence and effective teaching. His ideals, his notably unselfish outlook on life, and his personal philosophy inspired his fellow teachers as well as his students. Award Webpage

James Shea Award

Nomination Deadline - April 1
NAGT presents the James H. Shea Award to an individual for exceptional contributions in the form of writing and/or editing of Earth Science materials (broadly construed) that are of interest to the general public and/or teachers of Earth Science. Award Webpage

Dorothy LaLond Stout Professional Development Grants

Application Deadline - April 15
Dottie Stout was the first female president of NAGT and was active as a strong supporter of earth science education at all levels. In honor of Dottie's outstanding work and lifelong dedication to Earth Science Education, NAGT awards grants to faculty and students at 2 year colleges and K-12 teachers in support of professional development. Program Webpage

Other Upcoming Awards Programs

  • Outstanding Earth Science Teacher (OEST) Awards - Different sections have different nomination dates so check the page to see when they are due for your section. Sections that are still accepting nominations include:
    • Central - June 30
    • Far West - May 1
    • New England - June 1
    • Southwest - June 15
  • Outstanding TA Awards - The nomination deadline isn't until June 15, but it's never too early to think about who you could nominate.