NAGT Members Win Prestigious Awards

published Feb 23, 2010 4:32pm

If you needed more evidence that NAGT members are making big differences in the education of students all over the country, here it is. We leaned this fall that two of our members have been honored with awards for their work in the classroom.

Michael Klimetz, of John Dewey High School (Brooklyn, NY), was among the seven winners of the first annual Sloan Foundation Award for Excellence in Teaching Science and Mathematics. The goal of the Awards is to recognize outstanding science and math teachers in New York City's public high schools, and provide support in making their teaching materials and techniques widely available. Recognizing exceptionally dedicated and creative teachers who have achieved outstanding results, the awards also acknowledge the role each has played in inspiring students of all backgrounds and abilities to pursue careers in science and mathematics. For more information on the awards and the winners, see the program's press release:

Cathryn Manduca, NAGT's Executive Director and Director of the Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College (Northfield, MN), has been elected as a Fellow of the AAAS. Dr. Manduca received the award in honor of her distinguished service to all aspects of teaching and learning in the geological sciences, and for leadership in the Digital Library for Earth Sciences Education. To learn more about the AAAS Fellows and see the full list of Fellows elected in 2009, see the AAAS website:

Rob Thomas, professor of geology at the University of Montana Western (Dillon, MT), was named Outstanding Baccalaureate Colleges Professor for 2009. The award is one of four sponsored by the US Professors of the Year Awards Program sponsored by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, the Council for Advancement and Support of Education, and TIAA-CREF. The awards recognize professors for their influence on teaching and their commitment to undergraduate students. In addition to the four national winners, state-level Professors of the Year are being recognized in 36 states, the District of Columbia and Guam. For more information about the awards and the winners, see the program's website:

We are very proud of all our members efforts to raise the level of geoscience education. If you know of a member receiving recognition for their work, please let us know so that we can spread the word and add our own kudos.