NAGT Activities at 2021 GSA Annual Meeting

NAGT is pleased to sponsor a variety of symposia and sessions at the 2021 Annual Meeting of the Geological Society of America held in Portland, Oregon from October 10-13. Plan to attend the following sessions highlighting key issues of importance to geoscience educators at all levels. For those that will be onsite in Portland, we will have a some information at the NAGT booth (#416). More information about NAGT activities at GSA will be added to this page as it becomes available.

Jump down to: Workshops | Pardee Keynote Symposia | Topical Sessions | NAGT Meetings and Receptions

NAGT-Sponsored Field Trip

422. Accessible Field Geology of the Columbia River and Mount Hood

Thursday, 14 October 2021, US$0. CEU: 0.80. Limit: 34.
Leaders: Anita Marshall; Nancy Riggs; Leah Miller; Kreeya Olson; and Christopher L. Atchison
Endorsed by: The International Association for Geoscience Diversity; GSA Geoscience Education Division; National Association of Geoscience Teachers, GSA Committee on Diversity
Explore the geology of the Columbia River Gorge and Mount Hood/My'east with the International Association for Geoscience Diversity (theIAGD.org). Spend the morning traveling along the Columbia River, with several stops to highlight local and regional geology. Take in the expansive views and historical context of the Columbia River valley from Vista House at Crown Point, and see six layers of flood basalts exposed in the canyon walls at the spectacular Multnomah Falls. Stops in the afternoon will examine eruptive events and hazards of Mount Hood/My'east, including the pyroclastic and lahar deposits of the White River. IAGD field trips are designed to showcase local geology as well as best-practices for inclusive and accessible field trips. To ensure priority is given to participants with disabilities, an application form is required. Learn more and apply at: https://theiagd.org/2021-accessible-field-trip-columbia-river-and-mt-hood/
Primary Leader Email Address: anita.marshall@ufl.edu

NAGT-Sponsored Pardee Keynote Symposia

P3. Geoheritage: Celebrating Our Past, Protecting Our Future.
Monday, 11 October 2021, 1:30 p.m.–5:30 p.m.
Renee Clary; William Andrews; David Mogk; and Steven Semken
GSA History and Philosophy of Geology Division; GSA Geology and Health Division; GSA Geology and Society Division; GSA Geoscience Education Division; Association of American State Geologists; History of Earth Sciences Society; National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); GSA Soils and Soil Processes Division; GSA Marine and Coastal Geosciences Division; GSA Limnogeology Division
Geoheritage impacts our professional, public, and personal lives. Your voices and perspectives ARE important. Join us for awareness of the importance of geoheritage to the ongoing health of our profession, and the empowerment to recognize, conserve, and sustain the landscapes that impact our lives.

NAGT-Sponsored Topical Sessions

T149. Building the Workforce of the 21st Century: Understanding Diversity, Intersectionality, Ethics, and Inclusivity in the Geosciences and Implementing Transformative Change in Our Culture.
Elena A. Miranda; Aradhna Tripati; Gabriela Mora-Klepeis; and Catherine Flowers
GSA Geoscience Education Division; GSA Geology and Society Division; GSA Marine and Coastal Geoscience Division; International Association for Geoscience Diversity; National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); GSA Soils and Soil Processes Division
We focus on identifying existing challenges and innovative solutions to (1) recruiting and retaining a diverse workforce; (2) establishing an accessible and inclusive workplace; and (3) eradicating discrimination, harassment, bullying, and retaliation.
Geoscience and Public Policy

T152. Advances in Undergraduate Research and Education, Colorado Geology, and Igneous Petrology: Celebrating the 55-Year Career of Reinhard "Bud" Wobus.
K. Brock Riedell; Rachel Beane; and Cathryn Manduca
National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); GSA Geoscience Education Division; Council on Undergraduate Research Geosciences Division
To celebrate the 55-year career of Reinhard "Bud" Wobus at Williams College, this session focuses on the impact of his dedication to undergraduate research and education, southern Rocky Mountain geology, and plutonic-volcanic studies.
Geoscience Education

T154. Best Practices in Place-Based Education.
Michael A. Phillips; Steven Semken; and Sarah Fortner
National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); GSA Geoscience Education Division
Place-based programs make learning, science, environmental communication, and sustainability meaningful because participants can apply concepts to, and connect with, familiar places. We encourage place-based educators from all levels (formal and informal) to share successful ideas.
Geoscience Education | Environmental Geoscience | Geoscience and Public Policy

T155. Bringing Inquiry into Geoscience Labs for Students, Teaching Assistants, and Faculty.
Katherine Ryker; Rachel Teasdale; and Kelsey Bitting
National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Geo2YC Division; GSA Geoscience Education Division; National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Geoscience Education Research (GER) Division; National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Teacher Education Division (TED); GSA Geoscience Education Division
Inquiry-based learning engages students in "doing science" in geoscience labs. Presenters will share their experiences creating and testing inquiry-based labs, data on their efficacy, and strategies for supporting other instructors (e.g., graduate teaching assistants).
Geoscience Education | Geoscience Information/Communication

T157. Celebrating Innovative and Effective Approaches to Implementing the Next Generation Science Standards in Earth and Space Science Education (NGSS-ESS).
Aida Awad; Margaret Holzer; and Edward Robeck
National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); American Geophysical Union; American Geosciences Institute; National Earth Science Teachers Association; GSA Geoscience Education Division; GSA Karst Division; GSA Geology and Society Division
The NGSS-ESS presents challenges and opportunities for teaching, learning, assessment, and professional development in K–16 education. This session presents resources that highlight approaches to the challenges of implementing the NGSS-ESS while demonstrating where opportunities exist for continuing these efforts.
Geoscience Education

T159. Hands-On Teaching Demonstrations that Combine Geoscience and Societal Issues: Audience Participation Requested!.
Elizabeth Nagy; and Tiffany A. Rivera
GSA Geoscience Education Division; National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); GSA Structural Geology and Tectonics Division; GSA Marine and Coastal Geoscience Division; GSA Soils and Soil Processes Division
This is a geoscience education session that practices what it preaches. Authors present micro-demonstrations of effective teaching activities that integrate geoscience content with societal concerns. Presentations include audience participation, assessment results, and reflections on effectiveness.
Geoscience Education

T164. Making Sense of Methodologies and Theoretical Frameworks in Geoscience Education Research.
Kelsey Bitting; Emily Ward; Leilani Arthurs; Lauren Neitzke Adamo; Cory Forbes; Bailey Kreager; and Peggy McNeal
GSA Geoscience Education Division; National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Geoscience Education Research (GER) Division
Methods and theoretical frameworks can come from within and outside of geoscience education research to shape of our field. Presenters are encouraged to highlight decision-making processes in research studies that advance the field. New approaches and applications of established methods/frameworks are welcome.
Geoscience Education | Geoscience Information/Communication

T165. Measuring Learning in Geoscience Education.
Virginia Isava; and Argenta Price
National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Geoscience Education Research (GER) Division; GSA Geoscience Education Division
This session aims to highlight assessments in K–12 and higher-education classroom environments. We welcome presentations on assessment theory (deciding what to assess, benchmarks, timing, etc.), as well as innovative measurements and tools for learning.
Geoscience Education

T166. The Intersection of Physical and Social Science Research: How Critical Theories Can Be Used to Improve Geoscience Education Research and Pedagogy.
Ivan Carabajal; Akilah K. Alwan; and Darryl Reano
GSA Geoscience Education Division; GSA Diversity in the Geosciences Committee; International Association for Geoscience Diversity
This session will share how critical theories are applied in geoscience education research to analyze data, design research projects, and inform other higher-education experiences to create more inclusive, diverse, equitable, and just educational environments.
Geoscience Education | Geoscience Information/Communication

T167. The Lasting Effects of the 2020–2021 COVID-19 Crisis on Geoscience Education: Insights, Problems, and Unanticipated Benefits.
Mark Abolins; and Catherine Riihimaki
GSA Geoscience Education Division; National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Geoscience Education Research (GER) Division; GSA Geoinformatics and Data Science Division; GSA Geology and Society Division
Contributions will explore the effects of the COVID-19 crisis on geoscience teaching, outreach, and academic administration. Presentations about geoscience-education research conducted during the crisis are especially welcome.
Geoscience Education

T168. Undergraduate Research Posters by 2YC and 4YCU Geoscience Students (Posters).
Adrianne Leinbach; Gretchen L. Miller; and Stephanie Rollins
National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT); National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Geo2YC Division; International Association for Geoscience Diversity; National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Geoscience Education Research (GER) Division; GSA Geoscience Education Division; GSA Karst Division; Council on Undergraduate Research Geosciences Division
This session is designed for two-year college (2YC) and four-year college and university (4YCU) students presenting research posters in any subdiscipline of geoscience.
Geoscience Education

Meetings and Receptions

Note: Call-in details on the ONLINE meetings will be posted as it becomes available.

Sunday, October 10

  • NAGT Executive Committee Meeting (invite only)- 8:30-9:30am PDT // 9:30-10:30am MDT // 10:30-11:30am CDT // 11:30am-12:30pm EDT (ONLINE)
  • NAGT Annual & Council Meeting (all current members are welcome)- 10:00am-12:00pm PDT // 11:00am-1:00pm MDT // 12:00-2:00pm CDT // 1:00-3:00pm EDT (ONLINE)
  • NAGT/USGS Field Camp Business Meeting - 1:30-2:30pm PDT // 2:30-3:30pm MDT // 3:30-4:30pm CDT // 4:30-5:30pm EDT (ONLINE)
  • NAGT/USGS Field Education Forum - 2:45-3:45pm PDT // 3:45-4:45pm MDT // 4:45-5:45pm CDT // 5:45-6:45pm EDT (ONLINE)
  • NAGT GEO2YC: Two-Year College Division Meeting - 4:00-5:00pm PDT // 5:00-6:00pm MDT // 6:00-7:00pm CDT // 7:00-8:00pm EDT (ONLINE)
  • NAGT Teacher Education Division Meeting - Time: 5:15-6:15pm PDT // 6:15-7:15pm MDT // 7:15-8:15pm CDT // 8:15-9:15pm EDT (ONLINE)
  • NAGT Geoscience Education Research Division Meeting - Time: 6:30-7:30pm PDT // 7:30-8:30pm MDT // 8:30-9:30pm CDT // 9:30-10:30pm EDT (ONLINE)
  • Exhibits Open: 5:30-7:30pm PDT - NAGT Booth #416 - come visit us!
  • Exhibits Opening Reception: 5:30-7:30pm PDT

Monday, October 11

  • Exhibits Open: 10:00am-6:30pm PDT - NAGT Booth #416
  • Collaborations & Conversations - Posters: 4:30-6:30pm PDT

Tuesday, October 12

  • Exhibits Open: 10:00am-6:30pm PDT - NAGT Booth #416
  • NAGT Journal of Geoscience Education (JGE) Editorial Board Meeting (invite only)- 12:15-1:15pm PDT // 1:15-2:15pm MDT // 2:15-3:15 CDT // 3:15-4:15 EDT - (ONLINE)
  • Collaborations & Conversations - Posters: 4:30-6:30pm PDT

Wednesday, October 13

  • Exhibits Open: 10:00am-2:00pm PDT - NAGT Booth #416
  • Collaborations & Conversations - Posters: 4:30-6:30pm PDT

« Previous Page     

Advertisement