NAGT > About NAGT > Committees

NAGT Committees

NAGT Award Committees:

Robert Christman Distinguished Service Award Committee

The Executive Committee administers the selection of the Robert Christman Distinguished Service Award to recognize individuals who have provided exceptional service to the Association over a significant period of time.

The service may have been at the national and/or section level. Awardees are selected by the Executive Committee with the concurrence of the Council. The frequency of award presentations is left to the discretion of the Executive Committee.

Back to top

  • Members of the Executive Committee

Neil Miner Award Committee

This Committee administers the selection of the recipient of the annual Neil Miner Award for "exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the geosciences".

The Committee is composed of the President of the Association, who serves as Chair, the immediate Past-President; the Secretary/treasurer; and two members recommended by the Executive Committee. No one may serve as an appointed member for more than two years in succession. The Committee shall select the recipient of the Neil Miner Award.

Back to top

  • Anne Egger (chair)
  • Randy Richardson
  • Aida Awad
  • Don Duggan-Haas
  • John Taber

James H. Shea Award Committee

The James H. Shea award is given annually by the Association for exceptional contributions in the form of writing and/or editing of geoscience materials (broadly construed) that are of interest to the general public and/or teachers of geoscience. It is given only for outstanding work.

The Committee consists of five members, four of whom are appointed by the Executive Committee for staggered four-year terms (one new member is appointed each year for a four-year term. The Editor of the Journal of Geoscience Education is an ex officio, voting member of the committee. The senior member of the Committee (that member who is in the last year of his/her term) serves as the Chair of the Committee. The Committee is responsible for reviewing nominations, selecting the recipient and arranging for appropriate recognition.

Back to top

  • Andy Buddington (chair)
  • Kirsten St. John (JGE Editor)
  • Karen McNeal
  • Anne Egger
  • Karin Kirk

Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award Committee

This is a Committee to administer the annual Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Awards for "exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the earth sciences at the secondary school level", and for excellence in teaching at the secondary level. Candidates for this award are nominated in each section annually.

Nominations will be made online, monitored by the President of each section who will arrange for the Section Selection Committee. This Committee shall then select the recipient of the Award for the particular section. The presentation of the awards to each section recipient will ordinarily be made at a section meeting and/or before an appropriate audience by one of the section officers. In addition, sections may hold individual state competitions to select OEST State Winners. The Chair of the Outstanding Earth Science Teachers Awards Committee shall see to the preparation of all awards. The Chair is appointed by the Executive Committee. Two other members are recommended by the Executive Committee. Their term of office is two years. The remainder of the Committee consists of one representative from each section which participates in the OEST program. Section Representatives shall be selected by their section and their term of office shall be specified by their section.

Back to top

  • Mike Passow (chair)
  • Susan Wolf (Central)
  • Steve Lindberg (Eastern)
  • Mark Boryta (Far West)
  • No one for (Midcontinent)
  • Richard Little (New England)
  • Suzanne Smaglik (North Central)
  • Jodie Harden and Lynda Sanders (Pacific Northwest)
  • David Kopaska-Merkel (Southeastern)
  • Cheryl Manning (Southwest)
  • Bruce Herbert (Texas)

Program Committees:

NAGT Professional Development Planning Committee

  • Rachel Beane, Bowdoin College (Chair)
  • Anne Egger, Central Washington University
  • Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary
  • Cathy Manduca, SERC, Carleton College, ex officio
  • Randall Richardson, University of Arizona
  • Barbara Tewksbury, Hamilton College
  • Karen Viskupic, Boise State University
  • Katryn Wiese, City College of San Francisco
  • Dallas Rhodes, Humboldt State University

Teach the Earth Website Committee:

Members will serve three-year terms unless they are serving by virtue of their position.

  • Editor of site review - Anne Egger
  • SERC web team member - John McDaris
  • SERC technical director - Sean Fox
  • Editor of activity review - Kyle Fredrick
  • Councilor-at-large from ExCom - Jen Wenner
  • Professional Development committee member - Katryn Wiese
  • K-12 (especially 9-12) representative - Missy Holzer
  • Informal education representative - Lisa White
  • Undergraduate/Faculty representative - Michele Cooke
  • Educational website expert - Bruce Mason

Field Camp Scholarship Committee

This committee reviews the NAGT field camp scholarship applications and selects the scholarship receipients.

Back to top

  • Lydia Fox (chair)
  • Diana Dalbotten
  • Steve Whitmeyer


Nominating Committee

This Committee shall present to the Executive Director a list of nominations to be sent to the membership of the Association. There shall be at least one nomination for President (incumbent Vice-President), Vice-President (incumbent Second Vice-President), Second Vice-President, Secretary/treasurer (every third year), and Councilors-at-Large.

The Committee shall be composed each year of the five most recent available Past-Presidents of the Association, the immediate Past-President serving as Chair. Tenure will begin each year following the Annual Meeting. Should it become necessary to depart from this committee composition because of emergency or other difficulty, the current President of the Association shall make necessary appointments from the membership.

Back to top

  • Randy Richardson (chair)
  • Jimm Myers
  • Aida Awad
  • Susan Buhr Sullivan
  • Beth Wright

Investment Committee

The Investment Committee is responsible for reviewing the performance of investments and recommending changes to the Executive Committee in accordance with the National Association of Geoscience Teachers endowment policy.

The Committee is composed of a chair and three other members as directed by the Executive Committee. The membership of the Investment Committee will include the Second Vice President and two NAGT at-large members appointed by the Executive Committee to 3-year staggered terms.

Back to top

  • Geoffrey Feiss (chair)
  • Greg Wheeler
  • Randy Richardson
  • Don Duggan-Haas

Ad Hoc Committee

Awards Nomination Committee

This group will is tasked with developing a list of potential nominees for the various NAGT Awards.
  • David Steer (chair)